Tuesday, March 11, 2008

SESB 2008 All-SEC Team

The coaches revealed their All-SEC picks today, and the AP selections will come later on. Ties are not broken in the selection process, so there are nine names on the coaches All-SEC first team, with only Shan Foster (Player of the Year) and Jamont Gordon being unanimous, and eight names on the second team. So while it's good to see Chris Lofton and Tyler Smith on the first team and JaJuan Smith on the third team, we'll be sticking with the five-to-a-squad traditional basketball rules, of course.

Also, Bruce Pearl shares Coach of the Year honors with Billy Gillispie, who apparently was rewarded for sucking so much for the first three months of the season that everyone now believes he's a great story over the last six weeks. And no, I won't take it back.

JP Prince did win Sixth Man of the Year.

If I had a vote, it'd go like this:

SESB All-SEC First Team
G Shan Foster, Vanderbilt
G Chris Lofton, Tennessee
F Jamont Gordon, Mississippi State
F Tyler Smith, Tennessee
C Charles Rhodes, Mississippi State

SESB All-SEC Second Team
G Devan Downey, South Carolina
G JaJuan Smith, Tennessee
F Richard Hendrix, Alabama
F Patrick Patterson, Kentucky
C AJ Ogilvy, Vanderbilt

SESB All-SEC Third Team
G Nick Calathes, Florida
G Joe Crawford, Kentucky
F Marreese Speights, Florida
F Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
C Dwayne Curtis, Ole Miss

No comments: